2007 USEA Year-End Award Winners Announced


The USEA recognized winners for the 2007 games
On Dec. 8, the U.S. Eventing Association (USEA) recognized leaders in the sport during its 2007 Annual Meeting and Convention in Colorado Springs, Colo.

USEA Horse of the Year honors went to Theodore O’Connor, the 12-year-old, 14.2-hand Thoroughbred/Arab/Shetland gelding owned by The Theodore O’Connor Syndicate, LLC. With three-time Olympian Karen O’Connor in the irons, the talented pony tallied several wins this year, including individual and team gold medal at the Pan American Games in Rio de Janiero. The USEA presented a new perpetual trophy this year in his honor to recognize the achievements of gifted eventing ponies at all levels of competition. The Theodore O’Connor USEA Pony of the Year trophy will be given each year to the highest-pointed pony at any level. Teddy earned the award for 2007, so as the trophy’s namesake he will not be eligible to win the award in the future.

The USEA Rider of the Year for the eighth straight year was Phillip Dutton, who resides in West Grove, Pa. Dutton rode internationally for his home country, Australia, for many years until last year when he became an American. Dutton represented the U.S. for the first time at the Pan American Games in July, where, teaming with Tru Luck, he was a member of the gold medal winning team and also brought home an individual silver medal.

Karen O’Connor of The Plains, Va. had one of the best years of her career, earning the USEA Lady Rider of the Year title for a record 10th time. Her successes this year include the Pan Am individual and team gold medals with USEA Horse and Pony of the Year, Theodore O’Connor.

Corinne Ashton of Princeton, Mass. received this year’s USEA Adult Amateur of the Year honors, and the USEA Young Rider of the Year trophy was presented to 19-year-old Tiana Coudray of Ojai, Calif.

Jam, an 11-year-old Thoroughbred mare owned and ridden by Bruce Davidson of Unionville, Pa., earned USEA Mare of the Year honor.

For more information on the USEA Annual Meeting and Convention, including other award winners, visit www.useventing.com.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here