135th Kentucky Derby runs tomorrow, May 2nd


May 2nd marks the 135th running of the Kentucky DerbyThe Kentucky Derby is easily Thoroughbred racing’s most public event. Over 100,000 spectators attend the Derby at Churchill downs while millions more watch on television. Last year, the second place horse, Eight Belles, broke down and was euthanized on the track immediately following the race. This occurred only a few months after the 2006 Derby winner Barbaro was euthanized after a long struggle with injuries sustained during the Preakness Stakes.

New public attention on Thoroughbred racing has caused the industry to take action to consider the health and welfare of racehorses. The National Thoroughbred Racing Association created a Safety and Integrity Alliance in 2008 meant to help oversee safety and welfare issues. Additionally, the American Association of Equine Practitioners created guidelines for the care of racehorses in early 2009.

The industry is beginning to take steps toward accountability for the horses that are a part of it, but reform is often slow in the tradition-drenched horse racing world.

There are 20 contenders racing for the roses in this year’s Derby. For more information visit kentuckyderby.com.

 Horse Trainer Jockey Owner
 West Side Bernie  Kelly Breen  Stewart Elliott  George & Lori Hall
 Musket Man  Derek Ryan  Eibar Coa  Eric Fein & Vic Carlson
Mr. Hot Stuff Eoin Harty John Velazquez WinStar Farm LLC
Advice Todd Pletcher Rene Douglas WinStar Farm LLC
Hold Me Back Bill Mott Kent Desormeaux WinStar Farm LLC
Friesan Fire Larry Jones Gabriel Saez Fox Hill Farms and Vinery Stables
Papa Clem Gary Stute Rafael Bejarano Bo Hirsch
Mine That Bird Bennie Woolley Jr. Calvin Borel Double Eagle Ranch & Bueno Suerte Equine
Join in the Dance Todd Pletcher Chris DeCarlo Jake Ballis, Rashard Lewis, Reagan Swinbank, Reed Ballis & William Swinbank
Regal Ransom Saeed bin Suroor Alan Garcia Godolphin
Chocolate Candy Jerry Hollendorfer Mike Smith Sid & Jenny Craig Trust
General Quarters Thomas R. McCarthy Julien Leparoux Thomas R. McCarthy
I Want Revenge Jeff Mullins Joe Talamo David J. Lanzman & IEAH Stables, Puglisi Racing, Charles Winner
Atomic Rain Kelly Breen Joe Bravo  George & Lori Hall
Dunkirk Todd Pletcher Edgar Prado Mrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor & Derrick Smith
Pioneerof the Nile Bob Baffert Garrett Gomez Zayat Stables, LLC
Summer Bird Tim Ice Chris Rosier Drs. Kalarikkal K. & Vilasini D. Jayaraman
Nowhere to Hide Nick Zito Shaun Bridgmohan My Meadowview Farm
Desert Party Saeed bin Suroor Ramon Dominguez Godolphin
Flying Private D. Wayne Lukas Robby Albarado Grand Slam Farm




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here