Show Jumping Selection Trials for Olympic Games Begin

    Listed is the schedule for the USEF Show Jumping Selection Trials

    The USEF Selection Trials for Show Jumping are underway, Feb. 28 – March 9 in Wellington, Fla., and at the end of it all 10 horse-and-rider combinations will be named to the short list for the 2008 Olympic Games. 

    Reigning 2004 Olympic Gold medalists Beezie Madden, McLain Ward, Peter Wylde and Chris Kappler are among the 41 contenders entered in the Trials. The field also includes other Olympic and Pan American medalists: Norman Dello Joio, Margie Engle, Lauren Hough, Anne Kursinski, Todd Minikus, Joe Fargis and Cara Raether.

    The 10 horse-and-rider combinations named to the short list will travel to Europe to hone their skills and compete against the world’s best in preparation for the Olympic Games, but only four will be selected to wear the American flag in their quest to make history and bring home Olympic Gold.

    The USEF Selection Trials for Show Jumping schedule is as follows:

    Feb. 28, 7 p.m.
    Trial 1, WEF Challenge

    March 2, 1 p.m.
    Trial 2, $100,000 Zada Enterprises Grand Prix

    March 5, 7 p.m.
    Trial 3, Selection Trial Horses Only

    March 6, 7 p.m.
    Trial 4, WEF Challenge

    March 9, 1 p.m.
    Trial 5, $150,000 CN US Open Grand Prix

    Here’s a look at U.S. Olympic Teams that have made show jumping medal history:

    2004 Athens: Gold
    Peter Wylde /Fein Cera
    McLain Ward/ Sapphire
    Beezie Madden/ Authentic
    Chris Kappler/Royal Kaliber

    1996 Atlanta: Silver
    Peter Leone /Legato
    Anne Kursinski/Eros
    Michael Matz/Rhum IV
    Leslie Burr Howard/Extreme

    1988 Seoul: Silver
    Greg Best/Gem Twist
    Lisa Jacquin/ For the Moment
    Anne Kursinski/Starman
    Joe Fargis/ Mill Pearl

    1984 Los Angeles: Gold
    Joe Fargis/Touch of Class
    Conrad Homfeld/Abdullah
    Leslie Burr Howard/Albany
    Melanie Smith Taylor/Calypso

    1972 Munich: Silver
    Bill Steinkraus/Main Spring
    Neal Shapiro/Sloopy, Kathy Kusner
    Fleet Apple
    Frank Chapot/White Lightning

    1960 Rome: Silver
    Frank Chapot/Trail Guide
    Bill Steinkraus/Ksar d’Esprit
    George Morris/Sinjon

    1952 Helsinki: Bronze
    Bill Steinkraus/Hollandia
    Arthur J. McCashin/Miss Budweiser
    John Russell/Democrat

    2004 Athens: Silver
    Chris Kappler/Royal Kaliber

    1992 Barcelona: Bronze
    Norman Dello Joio/Irish

    1988 Seoul: Silver
    Greg Best/Gem Twist

    1984 Los Angeles:
    Joe Fargis/Touch of Class
    Conrad Homfeld/Abdullah

    1972 Munich: Bronze
    Neal Shapiro/Sloopy

    1968 Mexico City: Gold
    Bill Steinkraus/Snowbound

    1932 Los Angeles: Silver
    Harry Chamberlin/Show Girl



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    CAPTCHA Image