Nominations Now Accepted for 2014 Equine Industry Vision Award


Edited Press Release

Nominations are now open for the Equine Industry Vision Award, the first of its kind to showcase innovation across the entire equine market, as well as ingenuity and service. Zoetis, formerly Pfizer Animal Health, enters its 13th year as sponsor of the prestigious award in partnership with American Horse Publications (AHP).

Black Horses


Since its inception in 2002, there have been many worthy nominees for the Equine Industry Vision Award. Anyone is eligible to be nominated, re-nominated, or to nominate a candidate for the award. Nominees may include individuals and/or organizations. Candidates may be considered for a single outstanding visionary achievement or for sustained outstanding contributions that have made a profound impact on the equine industry.

The 2014 Equine Industry Vision Award will be announced during a breakfast ceremony sponsored by Zoetis on June 20, 2014, during the AHP Gallop n’ Grits Seminar in Charleston, S.C. The names of award recipients are engraved on the Equine Industry Vision Award Perpetual Trophy, created in the finest full lead crystal by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine and commissioned by Zoetis. The winners receive a smaller version of the award as a memento of this unique recognition.

“Zoetis is proud to carry on this tradition for the 13th consecutive year. We are honored to recognize the new and past winners who positively impact the equine industry,” said Kate Russo, marketing manager, Equine Vaccines, Zoetis.

Past award winners are truly visionaries who have contributed to the growth and preservation of the equine industry. If you know an individual or organization that deserves to be recognized for their vision and contribution in 2014, the deadline date for nominations is on or before Feb. 5, 2014.

Past recipients of the Equine Industry Vision Award are:

  • 2013 – Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship (PATH Int’l) for their work in promoting safe and effective therapeutic horseback riding for individuals with special needs throughout the world.
  • 2012 — Equine Land Conservation Resource (ELCR) for the organization’s dedication to help preserve land for the future of equestrian sports, recreation and industry.
  • 2011 — Robert Cacchione, executive director and co-founder of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA), for his exemplary vision to start an organization that would allow any college student to participate in horse shows, regardless of financial status or riding level.
  • 2010 — John Nicholson for his work as the executive director of the Kentucky Horse Park and as president of the World Equestrian Games 2010 Foundation. Nicholson’s leadership was pivotal in bringing the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games to the United States.
  • 2009 — Charlotte Brailey Kneeland, the founder and director of the American Riding Instructors Association, for her vision to promote and certify riding instructors across the United States.
  • 2008 — Sally Swift (1913-2009), the founder of the Centered Riding®, for having a revolutionary impact on horseback riding worldwide in the 20th century.
  • 2007 — David O’Connor, best known for his Olympic accomplishments and his work as president of the United States Equestrian Federation (USEF)
  • .

  • 2006 — Stanley F. Bergstein (1924-2011), executive vice president of Harness Tracks of America (HTA), for his positive contributions to the Standardbred racing industry and lifetime of accomplishments.
  • 2005 — John Ryan Gaines (1928-2005) for his countless contributions to the horse world that continue to reach across disciplines.
  • 2004 — American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) for the organization’s vast, positive impact on the equine experience worldwide.
  • 2003 — Don Burt (1930-2012) for more than 50 years of living and working as a member of the horse industry and his efforts across disciplines.
  • 2002 — Alexander Mackay-Smith (1903-1998) for his broad contributions to the whole of the equine industry.

To request a nomination ballot for the 2014 Equine Industry Vision Award, contact Judy Lincoln, EIVA Coordinator, American Horse Publications, at (386) 760-7743 or email

Nomination information is also available at the AHP website at All materials will be due on or before Feb. 5, 2014.


  1. I wish there was someone, that could be picked who was helping the Mustangs, the rescues, an the angels, who take in thin, sick horses, and without help money help, take care of these horses.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here